“Seek Moderation in everything, except Knowledge…”

School was not my favorite thing when I was attending grades 1 through 5 at a Catholic elementary school in my hometown – mostly because of the rigors and discipline that were imposed on the students by the Sisters of the Sacred Heart. Those sisters demanded obedience and made embarrassing examples out of any child found to be cutting corners or violating the rules. I did not thrive but I did manage to adapt to that austere school environment.

When I was 12 years old, my parents decided to enroll me in the sixth grade of the local public Elementary school because it was closer to my home and less expensive for my parents – who were doing their best to make ends meet while supporting their large family of 8 children.

I was the new kid in class and it was the first time I was exposed to a teacher who was not a Nun. My teacher, Mr Genaitas, was a man who became the first person in my life, outside my family, to really encourage me and motivate me to want to do my best.

While attending the Catholic elementary school I was just an average student at best – nothing special – but in my new public school surroundings I suddenly found myself at the top of my class, quickly becoming a favorite of my teacher who was delighted by my addition to his class. He pointed me out as an example for the other kids to follow,  awarded me special privileges for my assistance in tutoring other kids and suggested to me additional readings that he thought would challenge me.

I came to realize later in life that I probably owed my sixth grade success, and many of the fruits of my life’s later accomplishments, to the rigor and discipline that I learned at the hands of those Sisters of the Sacred Heart. Despite the negative aspects of the education system employed by the Nuns, they certainly instilled in me the values of hard work and sacrifice that have served me well throughout my whole life. My experience is that the Catholic education system teaches good learning habits that stay with you for life.

The things I got in abundance from Mr Genaitas that I did not get from the Nuns is encouragement, praise, validation and self-esteem. At the end of my sixth grade school year I left for Junior High School filled with confidence and the belief that the direction my life could take had endless possibilities. Sometimes on my way home from Junior High School I would stop by my old 6th grade classroom and visit with Mr Genaitas. He would smile at me proudly and give me advice as I told him about my classes and the subjects I was learning.

Teachers have the power to change a life. I have heard numerous people fondly reminisce about a teacher from their past who they looked up to and who made a positive difference in their life. All it takes is one inspiring teacher but I was truly blessed to have had several such teachers in my life.

A recent event made me realize that it is also possible for students to create a memorable and long-lasting impact on their teachers. I was visiting my 90 year old mother and she told me that she had a chance encounter with my old High School History teacher while shopping at the Grocery store. She said he asked her how I was doing and wondered what I had done with my life, mentioning to her that teaching was always gratifying to him when I was in his class.

I was shocked that he even remembered me. A retired teacher in his late eighties, someone who taught thousands of students throughout his career, remembering me fondly for my participation in a class he taught over 40 years ago.

It brought to mind another teacher who was influential in my life; Dr. Leo Hines, a professor of Medieval Literature at the College I attended. Dr Hines introduced me to the great religious thinkers of the middle ages and challenged his students with lectures that made them think about how those philosophies could be applied in our times. Those discussions came at an important time in my life, at a point when I was learning to put away childish things and become a man of substance.

I was surprised to one day find this note from Dr Hines, along with a magazine article, in my College Campus mailbox. The note was another event for me that demonstrated how teachers especially appreciate students who actively participate in the classroom and who are attentive, curious and eager to learn.

Dear Alan,

Your Christian athleticism puts me in mind of an article of mine published in England about the time you were born. It appeared in The Month, July 7, 1962. Hopkins himself published in this periodical in the mid-nineteenth century.

You always guarantee me an intelligent class, for which I am glad, so I reciprocate herewith by giving you an intelligent gloss on your psyche. I was not aware when I wrote it, of course, that that was my intention.

See you in class.

Best always, Dr Hines

My inherent desire to learn about new things has always come naturally and it has been part of my daily practice to search for things that I can do to increase my knowledge.

You will notice that Aristotle’s advice to “Seek moderation in everything, except knowledge, Knowledgefor virtue is found in the mean between extremes” exempts the search of knowledge as the one thing that people can not do to extreme. Anything else can be done to excess, but not learning, because learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere.

Great and interesting things happen when we are curious and seek knowledge. Albert Einstein said  “I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious” and Walt Disney said “When you’re curious you find lots of interesting things to do”.

I hope I continue to remain curious and seek out knowledge to the end. When we learn new things we nurture growth points that bring new possibilities into our lives. So my advice is to go ahead and take that online physics class, read a book on a new subject, learn a new language, immerse yourself in a different culture, watch an educational documentary, visit a museum, start a new hobby, volunteer to help a charitable organization – always seek out knowledge and truth.

If you do, I’m certain your life will become filled with lots of interesting things to do!

About alanalbee

I am a retired man with time on my hands to ponder the big and little things that make life interesting and meaningful... View all posts by alanalbee

3 responses to ““Seek Moderation in everything, except Knowledge…”

Leave a comment