“There is something in the forest to cure most anything that bothers you.”

sun-rays-in-forest

My love affair with the woods and wild places began at a young age. My father was a recreational fur trapper and fisherman and when I was a boy I would look forward in eager anticipation to those days when he would let me accompany him on his woodland outings to teach me the ways of nature.

It was an interest we shared for almost 50 years – one that strengthened the father/son bond and accounted for many happy homecomings over the years when we would reminisce about our past outdoor expeditions and latest woodland experiences. Even today, after his passing, I go to the woods to commune with my father’s spirit and to feel his presence.

My recent retirement has allowed me to walk and kayak new places in nature that I have always wanted to explore but never had enough time. I have mapped out all the nearby state parks and wilderness trails and have been happily hiking the trails during this beautiful New England Fall season.

I find that upon my return from these forest jaunts, I always feel better than when I departed – the medicine of the forest seems to be the cure for whatever happens to be bothering me. That is why it was not surprising to me when I happened across an article in Time magazine on a Japanese study about the healing power of nature.

The goal of the study was to clinically prove the therapeutic benefits of spending time in nature and to encourage the practice of what they call shinrin-yoku or “forest bathing”. Their study confirmed these benefits of going back to nature :

  • People who spent 40 minutes walking in a forest had lower levels of the stress hormone cortisol, compared with when they spent 40 minutes walking in a lab.
  • Trees and plants emit aromatic compounds that when inhaled spur healthy biological changes in the body similar to the effects of aromatherapy.
  • When people walked through or stayed overnight in forests, they exhibited changes in their blood associated with protection against cancer, better immunity and lower blood pressure.
  • The quiet atmosphere, beautiful scenery, good smells and fresh, clean air in forests were linked to symptom relief for heart disease, depression, cancer, anxiety and attention disorders.
  • Children with ADHD symptoms who regularly played in outdoor areas and parks had milder symptoms and were able to concentrate better than children who played indoors.
  • Exposure to nature elicit feelings of awe which caused individuals to feel less entitled, less selfish, and to behave in more generous and helping behaviors.
  • Even exposure to artificial nature images, sounds, and smells can have positive health benefits. Listening to nature sounds over headphones helps people recover faster from stress. One study found that people recovered faster from abdominal surgery, experienced fewer complications, and required less pain medication when their hospital room had a window with tree-lined views.

Little did I know when I was walking in the woods that I was receiving all those health benefits – I only know that I always feel better after returning from my day spent in nature. So, take time to get your forest bath today – it’s good for whatever ails you!

About alanalbee

I am a retired man with time on my hands to ponder the big and little things that make life interesting and meaningful... View all posts by alanalbee

Leave a comment